Solar Thermal Plants

Of the various type of solar thermal power plants,parabolic trough and solar power tower plants are decribed in more details below. The trough collectors that make up the solar field of a parabolic trough power plant are large cylindrical parabolic mirrors that concentrate the sunlight on a line of focus. Several of these collectors are installed in rows about a hundred meters long and the total solar field is composed of many such parallel rows.